SPA Students Win Gold Chapter Honors, Pres. Awarded Member Honors

Speech Pathology & Audiology majors have once again been awarded Gold Chapter Honors by the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association for the U.Va. chapter.  The Gold honors is the highest level for any university-based chapter.  This is the third time in four years the U.Va. chapter has earned the elite status.

“Winning Gold Level Honors is huge. It means that our NSSLHA chapter is among the very best chapters in the nation. Among 319 chapters nationwide, only 4% achieved Gold Status in 2013,” Randall Robey, professor and director of the Speech Pathology and Audiology program at the Curry School of Education said.

The 2014 U.Va. NSSLHA Officers are as follows:
Megan Crawford, President
Taylor Levine, Vice President
Casey Paul, Secretary
Julie Sadoff, Treasurer
Lindsay Tuck, Social Chair
Allison Matchinga, Community Service Chair
Jamie McCurdy, Web Master
Alex Howerton, Undergrad Representative
Caitlin Secrist, Undergrad Representative
Jenna Keeney Ombudsperson

In addition, Megan Crawford, the chapter president, was awarded NSSLHA Member Honors.  Each year, a few student leaders across the nation are singled out for their outstanding service to their Chapters, to the greater national association, and to individuals with communication disorders.

“This honor is so fairly won,” said Robey.  “Megan’s leadership and team building is exemplary and I’m very proud of the accomplishment that she and her team has engineered.”

The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA) is a pre-professional membership association for students interested in the study of communication sciences and disorders.

The NSSLHA is an association for students managed by students. National policy and activities are governed by 10 students (Regional Councilors) and five ASHA members (Faculty).