Mary and Butch Slaughter Lecture Series

Edward R. (Butch) Slaughter and his wife, Mary Hoke Slaughter, were devoted members of the University of Virginia community from 1931 until their deaths respectively in 1985 and 1994. Held since 1992, the yearly lecture is sponsored by their children in honor of their dedication to the field of physical education.

The lecture is hosted by the Kinesiology Department. Please contact them directly for scheduled events. 

Mary and Butch Slaughter Legacy

Butch Slaughter came to the University of Virginia as an assistant football coach in 1931 and during his years at the University served as line coach under four Virginia head coaches. In 1939, he joined the Faculty in the physical education department and remained a member until his retirement in 1973. His wife, Mary, was dedicated to raising their family and supporting both the Charlottesville and University communities through church and service organizations , such as the “Faculty Wives Club.” Butch’s contribution to the University during those years was deep, acting as the Golf Coach from 1940 through 1969, serving as a member of the University Senate, Chairman of the Department of Physical Education, Chairman of the Processions Committee, Chairman of the ACC Golf Coaches Association, and oversaw the construction of both Newcomb and University Hall. He is primarily remembered as the Director the Intramural Program from 1957 until his retirement. Outside the University he served his community as Chairman of the Charlottesville Recreation Board, the Charlottesville Redevelopment and Housing Authority, and the Charlottesville Democratic Committee among many other activities. The Slaughter Recreation Center at the University of Virginia was dedicated in his honor.

Previous Lectures

1992 Mary H. Slaughter
University of Illinois

1993 Russell R. Pate
University of South Carolina

1994 Jane E. Clark
University of Maryland

1995 Leslee A. Fisher
Michigan State University

1996 Scott M. Lephart
University of Pittsburgh

1997 George M. Graham
Virginia Polytechnic University

1998 Craig A. Wrisberg
University of Tennessee

1999 V. Reggie Edgerton
University of California, Los Angeles

2000 John M. Dunn
University of Utah

2001 Tara K. Scanlan
University of California, Los Angeles

2002 Mary Lou Veal
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

2003 Douglas J. Casa
University of Connecticut

2004 Gabriele Wulf
University of Nevada

2005 Steven N. Blair
The Cooper Institute in Dallas, TX

2006 James H. Rimmer
University of Illinois at Chicago

2007 Amelia Lee
Louisiana State University

2008 Bruce Beynnon
University of Vermont

2009 James Sallis
San Diego State University

2010 Catherine Ennis
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

2011 Jeffrey McCubbin
Oregon State University

2012 Timothy McGuine
University of Wisconsin

2013 Wendy M. Kohrt
University of Colorado

2014 Simon Driver
Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation

2015 Michael Metzler
Georgia State University 

Kevin Guskiewicz
University of North Carolina

2017 Juleen R. Zierath
Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

2018 Diane L. Damiano
National Institutes of Health

2019 Marcas Bamman
University of Alabama at Birmingham