Standing Committee for Promotion and Tenure

Committee Charge

  1. As a standing committee of the Curry School of Education that acts in conjunction with the Faculty Council and the Dean, this committee is the faculty body responsible for making recommendations on policies and practices related to Promotion and Tenure at the Curry School.
  2. The Promotion and Tenure Committee also serves to oversee the process for promotion and tenure for members of the Curry Faculty by way of offering the official recommendation on behalf of the Faculty to the Dean. Specifically,
    • The Committee shall select external reviewers for the candidate (from a list submitted by the candidate and Department Chair) for promotion and tenure.
    • The Committee shall review the supporting material supplied by the candidate, the Department Chair's summary letter for the candidate's review, the summary letter of the Internal Review Committee, and letters of the external evaluators. Using these sources of information, the Committee prepares a final comprehensive analysis of the candidate's strengths and weaknesses in teaching, scholarship, and service.
    • The Committee shall hold a secret ballot for each candidate, with five or more assenting votes considered an affirmative recommendation to the Dean for promotion and four or fewer assenting votes considered a negative recommendation to the Dean for Promotion. 
  3. The Curry promotions Committee consists of seven full-time tenured faculty members, excluding Department Chairs, the Dean, and Assistant/Associate Deans. A school-wide election is held in the spring of each year to select up to three members, one to represent each department, who serve staggered three-year terms. The Dean annually appoints the other four members of the committee. 
  4. The Dean annually appoints the Chair of the committee who serves for one year. Appointed members are eligible for reappointment.